Jackson-Triggs Wins Big on the World Stage

Jackson-Triggs Niagara Estate Winery is extremely pleased to announce the winning of Top Canadian Producer of the Year at the 44th annual International Wine and Spirits Competition (IWSC). Jackson-Triggs Niagara Estate Winemaker Marco Piccoli attended the prestigious awards ceremony at Guildhall in London, England to collect his award from IWSC President G. Garvin Brown IV.
Marco shares his excitement by commenting, “I am extremely proud and honored to have received this very important award from one of the most respected competitions in the world. This is a special reward for all the efforts of the Jackson-Triggs Winemaking and Viticulture Teams. It is a recognition that continues to keep the reputation of Jackson-Triggs wines very high within the international wine industry and I’m very happy that it shines broad attention once again on the entire Canadian wine Industry.”
The collective accolades of Piccoli’s 12 awards from his 14 submissions led to the trophy for the Top Canadian Winery Award with 5 of his awards going to the established Delaine Single Vineyard wines.
GOLD-2008 Grand Reserve Riesling Icewine*
SILVER-2011 Delaine Gewurztraminer
SILVER-2010 Delaine Syrah*
SILVER-2009 ENTOURAGE Sparkling Sauvignon Blanc*
SILVER-2011 Delaine Chardonnay*
SILVER-2011 Grand Reserve Chardonnay*
SILVER-2010 Delaine Cabernet-Merlot
SILVER- 2010 Grand Reserve Shiraz
BRONZE-2011 Delaine Fume Blanc
BRONZE-2008 Proprietors’ Reserve Vidal Icewine
BRONZE-2011 Grand Reserve Sauvignon Blanc
BRONZE-2008 ENTOURAGE Sparkling Methode Classique Brut
*Indicates wine still available for sale
The International Wine and Spirit Competition, founded in 1969, is the premier competition of its kind in the world. Its aim is to promote the quality and excellence of the world’s best wines, spirits and liqueurs. All entries of wines, spirits and liqueurs are blind tasted in groups divided by variety, region and vintage as necessary. Awards are made on a points system and sponsored trophies are presented in selected categories. The IWSC is supported by a group of Vice Presidents made up of some of the most influential men and women in the trade. This year’s President is G. Garvin Brown IV, the Chairman of Brown-Forman Corporation’s Board of Directors.
Founded in 1993, Jackson-Triggs has set the benchmark of excellence as Canada’s most renowned winemaker. Both Jackson-Triggs Okanagan, led by Winemakers Derek Kontkanen (Icewine and White Wine) and Brooke Blair (Red Wines), and Jackson-Triggs Niagara Estate, led by Winemaker Marco Piccoli, have been uncompromising in their pursuit of crafting Canadian wines that compete with the world’s finest and promise exceptional quality and value. Jackson-Triggs continues to distinguish itself as “Canada’s Most Awarded Winery,” and is widely recognized for its wide portfolio of table and sparkling wines In 2006 Jackson-Triggs became part of Constellation Brands, the world’s leading premium wine company.