Constellation Wines Australia Takes Home Three Trophies in Perth

AUSTRALIA, September 15, 2010 - Constellation Wines Australia enjoyed another great performance at the Royal Perth Wine Show last week, collecting three trophies and 17 gold medals.

Group Chief winemaker Paul Lapsley was very happy with the trophy results, particularly by the trophy awarded to the Hardy’s Sir James Tumbarumba 2001 sparkling, the tenth trophy to be awarded to this wine on the Australian National Show Circuit – a record.

Hardys Logo

"Our sparkling wine team headed by Ed Carr produce some of Australia’s best sparkling wines, and this result enjoyed by the 2001 Sir James Tumbarumba is testament to their skill. It would be hard to name many other wines that have been awarded 10 trophies for the same wine," Paul Lapsley said.

"It is also great to see the 2009 Bay of Fires Pinot Noir recognised, it was certainly an outstanding vintage in Tasmania, and this wine is shaping up to be one of the best vintages we have had in a long time."

The three trophies received by Constellation Wines Australia at the 2010 Royal Perth Wine Show included:

- The Trophy for Best Sparkling Wine – Hardy’s Sir James Tumbarumba Cuvée 2001
- The Trophy for Best Riesling – Leasingham Classic Clare Riesling 2006
- 'The Dr. Jack Hoffman Trophy' for Best Pinot Noir – Bay of Fires Pinot Noir 2009

The 17 gold medals awarded to CWAU wines included:

- House of Arras Brut Elite Sparkling class 79
- Bay of Fires Pinot Noir 2009 class 28
- Chateau Reynella Shiraz 2007 class 45
- Goundrey G Cabernet Tempranillo 2007 class 42
- Goundrey Homestead Semillon Sauvignon Blanc 2010 class 46
- Hardy’s Eileen Hardy Chardonnay 2008 class 15
- Hardy’s Eileen Hardy Shiraz 2008 class 37
- Hardy’s Hardy’s Rare Muscat NV class 77
- Hardy’s Sir James Tumbarumba Cuvee 2001 class 79
- Houghton Museum Release White Classic 2004 class 12
- Houghton C.W. Ferguson Cabernet Malbec 2007 class 55
- Leasingham Classic Clare Riesling 2006 class 17
- Leasingham Bin 61 Shiraz 2008 class 37
- Moondah Brook Shiraz 2009 class 62
- Starvedog Lane Chardonnay Pinot Noir Pinot Meunier 2004
- Yarra Burn Pinot Noir 2009 class 28
- Yarra Burn Blanc de Blancs Sparkling 2004 class 79


Contact: Anita Poddar, CWAU Group Public Relations Manager - 0417 819 978